+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Birth Date*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Already a member?

Login
+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Birth Date*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Already a member?

Login

Origin of the Madagascar rickshaw

As soon as you arrive in Madagascar, it comes to your mind to know : what are the most typical means of transport in this remote island. At first sight, if you disembark from the capital's airport, nothing foreshadows such means as when you enter the small neighborhoods of the city of miles.

Early in the morning, you will still see the latest horse carts and if not apart from the hundreds of hand carts which help transport goods from market to market, you will see the presence of these small vehicles pulled by men. They are usually full with goods but at the origin, they were used to transport the dignitaries and nobles of the city.

With the arrival of European missionaries on the island, we saw the emergence of a fairly unique means of transport for the time. What if the nobles of the capital used the sedan chair to move from one place to another?. This mode of transport underwent a transformation with the arrival of the missionaries because, to facilitate transport and reduce the number of people lifting these heavy stretchers, they just decided to fix a single wheel in the central position. But despite that this new vehicle was, certainly, less heavy and required fewer people, became difficult to maneuver. It was then that they thought of adapting the same system as the Indian and Chinese rickshaws which were, moreover already established on the east coast of the island but had not spread to the heights.

So they, created the pousse-pousse. This vehicle which looked a lot like a rickshaw but of a more modest size and which could move quite easily in the alleys of the capital by the end of the 19th century until, again, today.

Its name does not come from the sedan chair despite its origin but simply comes from the fact that in the Tananarivian alleys, the passenger, usually, foreign missionaries, said to the one who was behind to help pushing on the climbs : push, push ! And from there comes this famous word still used until today : Rickshaw which is therefore the offspring of two ancient means of locomotion, the "filanzane" or sedan chair and the rickshaw.

About the author

Devoted to Madagascar, I'd like to inform and share the affluence of the island in all its depth, its personality, its character, its nature, its wealth and its Human value. With the knowledge and professional experience acquired since many years, listening and attention are my main watchwords in order to suggest you and to carry out a program entirely fits in with your expectations. Tel : + 261 32 43 606 96 – 34 16 570 86 WhatsApp et Viber : (+ 261) 32 43 606 96

Leave a Reply


Why booking with us?

  • Guaranteed to the best price
  • Customer available 24/7
  • Organized visits and activities


A question?

Do not hesitate to call us. We are a team of experts and we are pleased to talk with you.

+ 261 32 43 606 96

+ 261 32 02 684 22

infos@madavoyages.com

+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Connexion

S'inscrire

Après avoir créé un compte, vous serez en mesure de suivre votre état de paiement, de suivre la confirmation et vous pouvez également évaluer le circuit après l'avoir terminé.
Nom d'utilisateur*
Mot de passe*
Confirmez le mot de passe*
Prénom*
Nom*
Email*
Tél*
Pays*
* La création d'un compte signifie que vous êtes d'accord avec nos conditions de service et de confidentialité..
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Déjà membre?

Connexion
+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Connexion

S'inscrire

Après avoir créé un compte, vous serez en mesure de suivre votre état de paiement, de suivre la confirmation et vous pouvez également évaluer le circuit après l'avoir terminé.
Nom d'utilisateur*
Mot de passe*
Confirmez le mot de passe*
Prénom*
Nom*
Email*
Tél*
Pays*
* La création d'un compte signifie que vous êtes d'accord avec nos conditions de service et de confidentialité..
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Déjà membre?

Connexion

Origine du pousse-pousse de Madagascar

Dès que vous arrivez sur Madagascar, il vous vient en tête de savoir : quels sont les moyens de locomotion les plus typiques dans cette île lointaine. De prime abord, si vous débarquez de l’aéroport de la capitale, rien ne laisse présager de tels moyens que lorsque vous vous immiscez dans les petits quartiers de la ville des milles.

De bons matins, vous verrez encore les dernières charrettes à cheval et sinon à part les centaines de charrettes à bras qui aident à transporter les marchandises de marché à marché, vous verrez la présence de ces petits véhicules tirés par des hommes. Ils sont généralement bondés de marchandises mais à l’origine, ils servaient à transporter les dignitaires et les nobles de la ville.

Avec la venue des missionnaires européens sur l’île, on vit l’apparition de moyen de transport assez unique pour l’époque. Et si les nobles de la capitale utilisaient la chaise à porteurs pour se mouvoir d’un lieu à un autre. Ce mode de transport vit une transformation à la venue des missionnaires car, pour faciliter le transport et réduire le nombre de personnes destinées à soulever ces brancards lourds, ils ont simplement décidé de fixer une roue unique en position centrale. Mais malgré que  ce nouveau véhicule était, certes, moins lourd et nécessitait moins de personnes, devenait difficile à manœuvrer. C’est alors qu’ils ont pensé à adapter le même système que les rickshaw indien et chinois qui étaient, d’ailleurs déjà implantés sur la côte est de l’île mais ne s’étaient pas disséminés sur les hauteurs.

On a donc, créé le pousse-pousse. Ce véhicule qui ressemblait beaucoup aux rickshaw mais d’une taille plus modeste et qui pouvait se mouvoir assez aisément dans les ruelles de la capitale durant la fin du 19ème siècle jusqu’à, encore, aujourd’hui.

Son nom ne vient pas de la chaise à porteurs malgré qu’il l’ait comme origine mais vient simplement du fait que dans les ruelles Tananariviennes, le passager, généralement, missionnaires étrangers, disaient à celui qui devait aider de pousser dans les montées : push, push ! Et de là vient ce fameux mot encore utilisé jusqu’à nos jours : Pousse-pousse qui est donc le rejeton de deux moyens de locomotion anciens, le « filanzane » ou chaise à porteur et le rickshaw.

About the author

Passionnée de Madagascar, je veux faire connaitre et partager la richesse de l’Ile dans toute sa profondeur, sa personnalité, son caractère, sa nature, sa richesse et sa valeur Humaine. Avec les connaissances et les expériences professionnelles acquises depuis des années, l’écoute et l’attention sont mes principaux mots d’ordre afin de vous proposer et réaliser un programme entièrement adapté à vos attentes. Tel : + 261 32 43 606 96 – 34 16 570 86 WhatsApp et Viber : (+ 261) 32 43 606 96

Leave a Reply


Pourquoi réserver avec nous?

  • Garantie au meilleur prix
  • Service client disponible 24/7
  • Visites et activités organisées


Une question?

N’hésitez pas à nous appeler. Nous sommes une équipe d’experts et nous sommes heureux de vous parler.

+ 261 32 43 606 96

+ 261 32 02 684 22

infos@madavoyages.com