+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Birth Date*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Already a member?

Login
+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Birth Date*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Already a member?

Login

.’ Traditional habitat of Madagascar

Cases etsimisaraka sur la côte Est

If we work for a moment on the origins of Malagasy architecture, you can quickly imagine a fairly close influence. By listing this architecture , I used precolonial graphics and descriptions in historical works. A small project then came, That of listing the traditional architecture of Madagascar, that which belongs to the pre-colonial period, of the time when the Madagascans only built with living materials such as wood, leaves and earth. Indeed before the Radama I reign, all the constructions on the island were essentially of vegetable matter because of the belief that the stone belongs to the kingdom of inert and death and therefore, only tombs and commemorative buildings were the only stone structures.

Malagasy architecture is strongly influenced by the origins and movement of each respective ethnic group. We have three main areas that correspond to each major original group, the Highlands, the eastern coast, including the South-East to the North of the island and finally the South and the entire West coast.

Generally, the architecture of the western part was mainly influenced by an African origin, using cob walls reinforced with an intertwined wooden structure and surmounted by a herb or dried palm roof. That of the highlands was influenced by Southeast Asia using wooden planks carved partially or fully and embellished with a bamboo or thatched roof. And the last structure is the one that runs along the entire east coast of the island of the Fort Dauphin Region to the northern tip of the island. It is generally on stilts and mainly uses bamboo, and a renter, reeds or palm trees.

Over time and the exchanges between them, these ethnic groups gradually tend to harmonize their architecture towards a more modern and European architecture.

About the author

Devoted to Madagascar, I'd like to inform and share the affluence of the island in all its depth, its personality, its character, its nature, its wealth and its Human value. With the knowledge and professional experience acquired since many years, listening and attention are my main watchwords in order to suggest you and to carry out a program entirely fits in with your expectations. Tel : + 261 32 43 606 96 – 34 16 570 86 WhatsApp et Viber : (+ 261) 32 43 606 96
1 Response
  1. Architect working in Madagascar since 40 years, I am also passionate about the subject. And in total disagreement with your vision of things regarding the history of Malagasy houses. I think it comes from just one source: the house of Southeast Asia, brought to the east coast by first arrivals from Indonesia, and which then spread throughout the territory by adapting to differing materials and climates. Some African influences are likely, but as for the language, the structure remained basically Asian.
    This is proven by many design details that connect all the habitats of the Big Island. Stronger: a common culture of housing exists, so that a resident of the Plateaux who builds a cabin in his field will find the structures and assemblies of the house in Falafa.

Leave a Reply


Why booking with us?

  • Guaranteed to the best price
  • Customer available 24/7
  • Organized visits and activities


A question?

Do not hesitate to call us. We are a team of experts and we are pleased to talk with you.

+ 261 32 43 606 96

+ 261 32 02 684 22

infos@madavoyages.com

+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Connexion

S'inscrire

Après avoir créé un compte, vous serez en mesure de suivre votre état de paiement, de suivre la confirmation et vous pouvez également évaluer le circuit après l'avoir terminé.
Nom d'utilisateur*
Mot de passe*
Confirmez le mot de passe*
Prénom*
Nom*
Email*
Tél*
Pays*
* La création d'un compte signifie que vous êtes d'accord avec nos conditions de service et de confidentialité..
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Déjà membre?

Connexion
+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Connexion

S'inscrire

Après avoir créé un compte, vous serez en mesure de suivre votre état de paiement, de suivre la confirmation et vous pouvez également évaluer le circuit après l'avoir terminé.
Nom d'utilisateur*
Mot de passe*
Confirmez le mot de passe*
Prénom*
Nom*
Email*
Tél*
Pays*
* La création d'un compte signifie que vous êtes d'accord avec nos conditions de service et de confidentialité..
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Déjà membre?

Connexion

L’ Habitat traditionnel de Madagascar

Cases etsimisaraka sur la côte Est

Si on planche un moment sur les origines de l’architecture malagasy, on devine très vite une influence assez proche. En répertoriant cette architecture , je me suis basé sur des graphiques précolonial et des descriptions dans les ouvrages historiques. Un petit projet est alors venu, Celui de répertorier l’architecture traditionnelle de Madagascar, celle qui appartient à la période précoloniale, du temps où les malgaches ne construisaient qu’avec des matières vivantes comme le bois, les feuilles et la terre. En effet avant le règne Radama I, toutes les constructions de l’île étaient essentiellement en matière végétale à cause de la croyance que la pierre appartient au règne de l’inerte et de la mort et de ce fait, seules les tombes et édifices de commémorations étaient les seules structures en pierres.

L’architecture malagasy est fortement influencée par les origines et le déplacement de chaque ethnie respective. On a trois grandes zones qui correspondent à chaque grand groupe originel, les Hautes terres, la côte orientale, comprenant le Sud-Est jusqu’au Nord de l’île et enfin le Sud et tout le bassin Ouest.

De manière générale, l’architecture de la partie Ouest a surtout été influencée par une origine africaine, utilisant des murs en torchis armé d’une structure en bois entrelacée et surmontée d’une toiture en herbes ou palmes séchées. Celle des hautes terres a quant à elle été influencée par l’Asie du Sud-Est en utilisant des planches de bois sculptées partiellement ou intégralement et agrémentée d’une toiture en bambou ou de chaume. Et la dernière structure est celle qui longe toute la côte Est de l’île de la Région de Fort Dauphin jusqu’ à la pointe Nord de l’île. Elle est en générale sur pilotis et utilise essentiellement le bambou, le ravenala, les roseaux ou les palmiers.

Avec le temps et les échanges entre elles, ces ethnies ont petit à petit tendance à harmoniser leur architecture vers une architecture plus moderne et européenne.

About the author

Passionnée de Madagascar, je veux faire connaitre et partager la richesse de l’Ile dans toute sa profondeur, sa personnalité, son caractère, sa nature, sa richesse et sa valeur Humaine. Avec les connaissances et les expériences professionnelles acquises depuis des années, l’écoute et l’attention sont mes principaux mots d’ordre afin de vous proposer et réaliser un programme entièrement adapté à vos attentes. Tel : + 261 32 43 606 96 – 34 16 570 86 WhatsApp et Viber : (+ 261) 32 43 606 96
1 Response
  1. Architecte travaillant à Madagascar depuis 40 ans, je suis aussi passionné par le sujet. Et en total désaccord avec votre vision des choses concernant l’historique des maisons malgaches. Je pense en effet qu’elle ne provienne que d’une seule source: la maison du Sud-est asiatique, amenée sur la côte Est par les premiers arrivants d’Indonésie, et qui s’est ensuite répandu sur l’ensemble du territoire en s’adaptant aux matériaux et climats différends. Quelques influences africaines sont probables, mais comme pour la langue, la structure est restée fondamentalement asiatique.
    C’est prouvé par de nombreux détails de conception qui relient tous les habitats de la Grande Ile. Plus fort: une culture commune de l’habitat existe, si bien qu’un habitant des Plateaux qui construit une cabane dans son champ va retrouver les structures et les assemblages de la maison en Falafa.

Leave a Reply


Pourquoi réserver avec nous?

  • Garantie au meilleur prix
  • Service client disponible 24/7
  • Visites et activités organisées


Une question?

N’hésitez pas à nous appeler. Nous sommes une équipe d’experts et nous sommes heureux de vous parler.

+ 261 32 43 606 96

+ 261 32 02 684 22

infos@madavoyages.com