+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Already a member?

Login
+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Already a member?

Login

The Sandalwood mask

As in all cultures of the world, the women of Madagascar are not left out when it comes to the search for beauty. If you travel the roads of the North Island to the South or from East to West, you will surely meet women dressed in color on the face.

It is these beauty masks that adorn their face practically in their daily life. They only remove them for going out, for parties or gatherings.

These colors vary from white to red and for that, they use pieces of wood, shells or even earth and clay but the most widely used is undoubtedly Malagasy sandalwood or "masonjoany".

The masonjoany is much more than a face mask. In addition to its benefits and its various virtues, sandalwood is part of the customs and tradition in the west and south coast of our island.

Around the ninth century, Arab navigators occasionally visited the island of Nosy Be, which they named "Assada" or "Sada", the Malagasy people named the island "Vario Be", the Arabs obtained supplies on the island and created a trading post there in Mahilaka, with a perimeter wall of 4 meters high towards 900, then in 1100 the Arabs also create a counter in Ambanoro (the city of Marodoka today) where was the first port of Nosy be, the Indians then came to settle in Ambanoro (Marodoka) for trade and it was from there that the Malagasy started using sandalwood as an ingredient for local sunscreens, sandalwood is therefore a precious tree and a heritage that the Indians left us.

From its scientific name Santalinamadagascariensis, sandalwood is a small tree that grows in the western part of Madagascar. Native to tropical Asia, Masonjoany was used to make Indian incense. It is becoming more and more in demand in the cosmetics world. It is a real ally in protecting your skin against UV rays. This is why virtually all women of sunny coasts embrace sandalwood on a daily basis. Nowadays, it is even found even in the highlands.

The masonjoany is also defined as a fashion accessory for Malagasy women. In Sakalava women, wearing the masonjoany mask is a tradition during ceremonies. otherwise, you will understand the importance of this ritual by visiting Nosy Be, Diego or Tulear.

Masonjoany also has soothing properties, disinfectant and relaxing on the skin. It delays the appearance of wrinkles because it deeply cleanses the skin and eliminates toxins from the face. Aesthetic, the masonjoany mask inspires the most talented.

How to use it?

Here are the ingredients needed to make your own beauty product : a piece of sandalwood, a stone or a coral and a little water. To obtain a smooth paste, you just have to rub the small piece of wood against the stone. Add a little water to your powder. Thereafter, you can apply it on your face.

Then, leave on for a few minutes and the color will change from yellow brown to almost a pale white. To remove boredom from a painting without a pattern, Sakalava women began to make flower patterns. This tradition has gradually been exported to other regions.

To rest your face at night, just rinse off with lukewarm water. You can rinse with lukewarm water.

Photo credit @ africamatters2015

About the author

Devoted to Madagascar, I'd like to inform and share the affluence of the island in all its depth, its personality, its character, its nature, its wealth and its Human value. With the knowledge and professional experience acquired since many years, listening and attention are my main watchwords in order to suggest you and to carry out a program entirely fits in with your expectations. Tel : + 261 32 43 606 96 – 34 16 570 86 WhatsApp et Viber : (+ 261) 32 43 606 96

Leave a Reply


Why booking with us?

  • Guaranteed to the best price
  • Customer available 24/7
  • Organized visits and activities


A question?

Do not hesitate to call us. We are a team of experts and we are pleased to talk with you.

+ 261 32 43 606 96

+ 261 32 02 684 22

infos@madavoyages.com

+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Connexion

S'inscrire

Après avoir créé un compte, vous serez en mesure de suivre votre état de paiement, de suivre la confirmation et vous pouvez également évaluer le circuit après l'avoir terminé.
Nom d'utilisateur*
Mot de passe*
Confirmez le mot de passe*
Prénom*
Nom*
Date de Naissance*
Email*
Tél*
Pays*
* La création d'un compte signifie que vous êtes d'accord avec nos conditions de service et de confidentialité..
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Déjà membre?

Connexion
+ 261 32 43 606 96 infos@madavoyages.com

Connexion

S'inscrire

Après avoir créé un compte, vous serez en mesure de suivre votre état de paiement, de suivre la confirmation et vous pouvez également évaluer le circuit après l'avoir terminé.
Nom d'utilisateur*
Mot de passe*
Confirmez le mot de passe*
Prénom*
Nom*
Date de Naissance*
Email*
Tél*
Pays*
* La création d'un compte signifie que vous êtes d'accord avec nos conditions de service et de confidentialité..
Please agree to all the terms and conditions before proceeding to the next step

Déjà membre?

Connexion

Le masque au Santal

Comme dans toutes les cultures du monde, les femmes de Madagascar ne sont pas en reste pour ce qui est de la recherche de la beauté. Si vous sillonnez les routes de l’île du Nord vers le sud ou d’Est en Ouest, vous croiserez surement des femmes parées de couleur sur le visage.

Ce sont ces masques de beauté qui ornent leur visage pratiquement dans leur quotidien. Elles ne les enlèvent que pour des occasions de sortie, de fêtes ou de rassemblement.

Ces couleurs varient du blanc au rouge et pour cela, elles utilisent des morceaux de bois, de coquillages ou même de terre et d’argile mais le plus utilisé est incontestablement le bois de santal malagasy ou le « masonjoany ».

Le masonjoany est bien plus qu’un masque de beauté. Outre ses bienfaits et ses différentes vertus, le bois de santal fait partie des coutumes et de la tradition dans la côte ouest et sud de notre île.

Vers IX siècle les navigateurs arabes visitent épisodiquement l’île de Nosy be  qu’ils nommèrent « Assada » ou « Sada », les Malgaches quant à eux nommaient l’île « Vario Be », les Arabes se ravitaillaient sur l’île et y crée un comptoir  commercial à Mahilaka, avec un mur d’enceinte de 4 mètres de haut vers 900, puis en 1100 les Arabes créent aussi un comptoir à Ambanoro (la ville de Marodoka aujourd’hui) où se situait le premier port de Nosy be, les indiens sont alors venus se fixer à Ambanoro (Marodoka) pour le commerce et c’est à partir de là que les Malagasy ont commencé a utilisé le bois de santal en tant qu’ingrédient pour les crèmes solaires locale, le bois de santal est donc un arbre précieux et un patrimoine que les Indiens nous ont laissé.

De son nom scientifique Santalinamadagascariensis, le bois de santal est un petit arbre qui pousse dans la partie ouest de Madagascar. Originaire d’Asie tropicale, le Masonjoany servait à fabriquer des encens indiens. Il devient de plus en plus demandé dans l’univers cosmétique. C’est un véritable allié pour protéger votre peau contre les rayons UV. Voilà pourquoi pratiquement toutes les femmes des côtes ensoleillées  adoptent le bois du santal au quotidien. Aujourd’hui, on le retrouve même jusque sur les hautes terres.

Le masonjoany se définit aussi comme un accessoire de mode pour les femmes malgaches. Chez les femmes Sakalava, porter le masque masonjoany est une tradition durant les cérémonies. Par ailleurs, vous comprendrez l’importance de ce rituel en visitant Nosy Be, Diego ou Tuléar.

Le masonjoany dispose aussi des propriétés apaisantes, désinfectantes et relaxantes sur la peau. Il retarde l’apparition des rides car il nettoie en profondeur la peau et élimine les toxines du visage. Esthétique, le masque de masonjoany inspire les plus talentueux.

Comment l’utiliser ?

Voici les ingrédients nécessaires pour fabriquer votre propre produit de beauté : un bout de bois de santal, une pierre ou un corail et un peu d’eau. Pour obtenir une pâte bien fluide, il vous suffit de frotter le petit bout de bois contre la pierre. Ajoutez un peu d’eau à votre poudre. Par la suite, vous pouvez l’appliquer sur votre visage.

Ensuite, laissez poser pendant quelques minutes et la couleur changera du jaune brun à presque un blanc pâle. Pour enlever l’ennui d’un tableau sans motif, les femmes Sakalava ont commencé à faire des motifs fleuris. Cette tradition s’est petit à petit exportée vers les autres régions.

Pour reposer votre visage la nuit, il vous suffit de rincer à l’eau tiède. Vous pouvez rincer avec de l’eau tiède.

Crédit photo @africamatters2015

About the author

Passionnée de Madagascar, je veux faire connaitre et partager la richesse de l’Ile dans toute sa profondeur, sa personnalité, son caractère, sa nature, sa richesse et sa valeur Humaine. Avec les connaissances et les expériences professionnelles acquises depuis des années, l’écoute et l’attention sont mes principaux mots d’ordre afin de vous proposer et réaliser un programme entièrement adapté à vos attentes. Tel : + 261 32 43 606 96 – 34 16 570 86 WhatsApp et Viber : (+ 261) 32 43 606 96

Leave a Reply


Pourquoi réserver avec nous?

  • Garantie au meilleur prix
  • Service client disponible 24/7
  • Visites et activités organisées


Une question?

N’hésitez pas à nous appeler. Nous sommes une équipe d’experts et nous sommes heureux de vous parler.

+ 261 32 43 606 96

+ 261 32 02 684 22

infos@madavoyages.com